Saturday, 19 Jun 2021


Electronics is the science of how to control electric energy, energy in which the electrons have a fundamental role.

Who made the first Electronics?

  • In 1904, John Ambrose Fleming, the first professor of electrical Engineering at University College London, invented the first radio tube, the diode. Then, in 1906, Robert von Lieben and Lee De Forest independently developed the amplifier tube, called the triode.

Who is the Father of Electronics?

  • Michael Faraday: Father of Electronics Paperback – January 1, 1978.Charles Ludwig retells Michael Faraday’s remarkable life story in fictionalized form. Here is the father of the electric motor, the dynamo, the transformer, the generator.


  • Luigi Galvani was a professor in the University of Bologna. He studied the effects of electricity on animals, especially on frogs. With the help of experiments, he showed the presence of electricity in frogs in the year 1791.
  • Charles Coulomb was a great scientist of the 18th century. He experimented with the mechanical resistance and developed coulomb’s law of electro-static charges in the year 1799.
  • Allesandro Volta was an Italian scientist. He invented battery in the year 1799. He was the first to develop a battery (Voltaic cell) that could produce electricity as a result of chemical reaction.
  • Hans Christian Oersted showed that whenever a current flows through a conductor, a magnetic field is associated with it. He initiated the study of electromagnetism and discovered Aluminum in the year 1820.
  • George Simon Ohm was a German physicist. He experimented with the electrical circuits and made his own part including the wire. He found that some conductors worked when compared to others. He discovered Ohms law in the year 1827, which is a relation between current, voltage& resistance. The unit for resistance is named after him.
  • Michael Faraday was a British scientist and great pioneer experimenter in electricity and magnetism. After the discovery by Oersted, he demonstrated electromagnetic induction in the year 1831. This is the basic principle of the working of generators.
  • James Clerk Maxwell was a British physicist, and he wrote treatise on magnetism and electricity in the year 1873. He developed the electromagnetic field equations in the year 1864. The equations in it were explained and predicted by hertz’s work and faradays’ work. James Clerk Maxwell formulated an important theory – that is, electromagnetic theory of light.
  • Henrich Rudolph Hertz was a German physicist born in 1857 in Hamburg. He demonstrated the electromagnetic radiation predicted by Maxwell. By using experimental procedures, he proved the theory by engineering instruments to transmit and receive radio pulses. He was the first person to demonstrate the photo-electric effect. The unit of frequency was named Hertz in his honorarium.
  • Andre Marie Ampere was a French mathematician and physicist. He studied the effects of electric current and invented solenoid. The SI unit of electric current (the Ampere) was named after him.
  • Karl Friedrich Gauss was a physical scientist and a greatest German mathematician. He contributed to many fields like algebra, analysis, statistics, electrostatics and astronomy. The CGS unit of magnetic field density was named after him.
  • Wilhelm Eduard Weber was a German physicist. He investigated terrestrial magnetism with his friend Carl fried rich. He devised an electromagnetic telegraph in the year 1833, and also established a system of absolute electrical units, and the MKS unit of flux was named after Weber.
  • Thomas Alva Edison was a businessman and an American inventor. He developed many devices like, practical electric bulb, motion picture camera, photograph and other such things. While inventing the electric lamp, he observed the Edison effect.
  • Nikola Tesla invented the Tesla coil; the Tesla induction motor; alternating current (AC); electrical supply system that includes a transformer; 3-phase electricity and motor. In 1891, Tesla coil was invented and used in electronic equipment, television and radio sets. The unit of magnetic field density was named after him.
  • Gustav Robert Kirchhoff was a German physicist. He developed Kirchhoff’s law that allows calculation of the voltages, currents and resistance of electrical networks.
  • James Prescott Joule was a brewer and an English physicist. He discovered the law of conservation of energy. The unit of energy – Joule was named in his honor. To develop the scale of temperature, he worked with Lord Kelvin.
  • Joseph Henry was an American scientist, and independently discovered electromagnetic induction in the year 1831 – a year before faraday’s discovery. The unit of induction was named after him.
  • Lee de forest was an American inventor, and he invented the first triode vacuum tube: Audio n tube in 1906. He was honored as the father of radio.
  • Walter schottky was a German physicist. He defined shot noise-random electron noise in thermionic tubes, and invented the multiple grid vacuum tube.
  • Edwin Howard Armstrong was an inventor and an American electrical engineer. He invented electronic oscillator and regenerative feedback. In 1917, he invented super-heterodyne radio and patented FM radio in the year 1933.

Image: Pexels


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *